Sunday , July 21 2019
Home / EDUCATION / SRM University Tamilperayam Awards -2016

SRM University Tamilperayam Awards -2016

Every year, SRM Tamilperayam Awards worth of Rs. 22 Lakhs are awarded to the best Tamil writers and Scholars in 12 categories. This year Award function was held today (18.02.17 Saturday) morning, at Dr.T.P. Ganesan Auditorium, SRM University, Kattankulathur campus. Founder Chancellor Dr. T.R. Paarivendhar presided over the function and distributed the awards to the Awardees and book publishers.

Dr. V.M. Muthukumar, Vice Chancellor of Bharadhidasan University, Thiruchi felicitated the awardees with shawls and delivered special address. Special guest Kalaimaamani Prof. K. Gnanasambandan presented the citation to the awardees and delivered the keynote address. Dr. S. Ponnusamy controller of Examinations introduced the awardees to the audiences. The president of Tamilperayam and Pro.Vice Chancellor. Dr. T.P. Ganesan, welcomed the gathering. SRM University President Dr. P. Sathyanarayanan felicitated the function in the presence of Dr. Ravi Pachamuthu Chairman, SRM Institute of Science & Technology.DSC06531

Awardees Dr. Silamboli chellappan and Poet Erode Tamilanban delivered their acceptance address on behalf of the awardees. Cultural programmes were performed by Paarivendhar Students Tamil Mandram. Dr. Karu.Nagarajan Secretary, Tamilperayam proposed the vote of thanks. Professors, students and Non teaching staff of SRM University Kattankulathur, Ramapuram and Vadapalani Campuses and public participated in a large number.

IMG_2411 copy (1)

SRM Tamil Perayam honours Tamil Creative Writers, Translators, Critics, Foreign Tamil Writers, Great Tamil Scholars who have contributed to the development of Tamil Language, Literature and Culture, with cash awards worth of Rs. 22,00,000 in 12 titles every year.

The Name of awardees for 2016 are as follow.

Sl.No:Name of the AwardAuthor & BookAmount
1Pudhumaipitthan Padaippilakkiya Award (Short Story, Novel, Drama)   Book:Kolaicheval

  Author: Imayam

Rs. 1,50,000


Bharathiar Kavidhai Award (Poetry)Book:Malarmagan Kavithaigal                Author: MalarmaganRs. 1,50,000
3Azha. Valliappa Kuzhanthai Ilakkiya Award   Book:Chottu Thanneer                               Author:O.K. GunanathanRs. 1,50,000
4G.U.Pope Mozhipeyarpu Award (Literary Translation)Book:Paththupattu in English                                   Author:A. Dakshnamoorthy


Rs. 1,50,000
5Pe.Na.Appusamy Ariviyal Tamil Award (Best Book on Science in Tamil)   Book:Sarkarai Noyudan Vazhvathu Inithu



Rs. 1,50,000
6Ananda Kumarasamy Kavinkalai Award (Book on sculpture/Painting)


   Muthuthandavar Tamilisai Award (Book on Tamil Isai)


   Book:Chozhar kaala Aadar Kalai   Author: R. KalaikovanRs. 1,50,000
7Vipulanandhar Padaippilakkiya Award                                   (Poerty, Fiction, Drama, Katturai Ilakkiyam for Tamil Creative writers of Foreign Countries)   Book:            Kurunthogai                                        Author:V.I.S. JayabalanRs. 1,50,000
8Abdul Kalam Ilam Thamizh Aaivaringnar – ValarTamil Award            

(Research Book on Language, Literature & History)


Book: Thamizhagathil Puratha Vannargal  Author:D. Dhananchezhiyan


Rs. 1,50,000
9Suthesamithiran Thamizh Ithal Award                                    Ithal: Kalachuvadu              Editor: S.R. SundaramRs. 1,00,000
10 Tholkappiar Thamizh sangam  Award                                       Tamil Nadu: Ilakkiya Veedhi            Organiser: Ilakkiya Veedhi Iniyavan

Other State:  Nil                              Organiser:  Nil

Other Country: Canada Tamil Kalloori Organiser:V.S. Durai Rasa


Rs. 2,00,000
11Paridhimar Kalaignar Award

(Scholarship, High Quality Creative works, Wide Knowledge in any specific area of Literature)


Tamil Scholar Name : Kavingnar Erode Tamizh Anban


Rs. 2,00,000
12Paarivendar Painthamizh Award

 Tamil Perarignar – Life – Time Achievement Award.

(Foreign Scholars are also eligible for this award)


    Tamil Perarignar Name :           Silampoli S. Chellappan


Rs. 5,00,000















About Ragavendhar

Check Also

Smart India Hackathon 2019 valedictory In SRMIST

Hardware Hackathon concludes with call to student driven start ups to understand pain of customers …