Saturday , December 7 2019
Home / Sports / III Marina Open AITA Ranking Wheelchair Tennis Tournament Begins

III Marina Open AITA Ranking Wheelchair Tennis Tournament Begins

42 players are to participate in the third edition of the Marina Open AITA Ranking Wheelchair Tennis Tournament to begin on Wednesday, 7th August at 9 a.m. at the well-known SDAT Tennis Stadium, Chennai.

Vijay Amritraj, India’s Tennis Legend and President, TNTA hailed the development of Wheelchair Tennis in India. It was important that sport of Tennis spread far and wide and included the disabled. He was confident that in time these players will also make a mark in the International sphere. He also thanked the SDAT for providing the stadium at a subsidised rate for this special event.

Sunil Jain, Chairman of Indian Wheelchair Tennis Tour said that the Wheelchair Tournament will the beneficial for the disable and will be held year after year. We thank the Sponsors especially the Main Sponsor L & T Technology Services for Contributing wholeheartedly to the cause. The fact that participation has been growing steadily in number denotes the continuing popularity of the Sport. He also thanked the other supporters.

Paneesh Rao, Head of HR, L & T Technology said “It gives us immense pleasure to support this great initiative of Wheelchair Tennis In India and partner with Indian Wheelchair Tennis Tour in achieving the vision of producing Indian players amongst the Top 100 in the world in this category.”

Salient Features of the Tournament:
The number of entries for the Men’s event is 34 – 19 from Karnataka, 13 from Tamil Nadu, 1 from Uttar Pradesh and 1 from United Kingdom. The top seed is Shekar Veeraswamy of Karnataka followed by S. Balachandar seed 2 and Karthik Karunakar seed 3 from Tamil Nadu. In the Women’s Event, there are a total of 8 entrants – 7 from Karnataka and 1 from Tamil Nadu with Prathima Rao of Karnataka being the top seed. Others in the fray are K.P. Shilpa of Karnataka and Nalina Kumari of Karnakata.

The Men’s Winner will get 30 points and the Runner Up will get 22 points while the Women’s Winner will get 15 points and the Runner Up 12 points. The Men’s Doubles events will also be conducted. The tournament carries a total Prize Money of Rs. 2, 32,000/-.

The first and second rounds of the Men’s Singles and the Round Robin matches in the Women’s event will be played best of 17 games and from quarterfinals onwards the matches will be played best of 3 sets.

The Finals will to be played on Saturday, 10th August 2019

Tournament Details

Name of the Championship III Marina Open AITA Ranking Wheelchair Tennis Tournament
Under the auspices of All India Tennis Association & Tamil Nadu Tennis Association
Ranking Status AITA Ranking Wheelchair Tennis
Promoted by Indian Wheelchair Tennis Tour (A Division of Astha, Bengaluru)
Main Sponsor   L & T Technologies Services
Supporters Cavin Kare, GRT Gold, NanOLife and others.
Medical Partner Appollo Hospitals
Tennis Balls Yonex Tour
Venue SDAT Tennis Stadium, Lake Area,  Nungambakkam, Chennai 600034
Total No. of events    Four (4) – Men & Women  Singles & Doubles
Main Draw matches begin on Men & Women: Wednesday 7th August 2019
Finals Singles & Doubles – Saturday, 10thAugust 2019
Sign in Qualifying & Maindraw 6th August 2019 (2:00 p.m. to 4: 00 p.m.)

Composition of Main Draw:

Singles Men Singles Women Singles (Round Robin) Men’s Doubles Womens Doubles
Qualifiers 8    
Wild card 4 2  
Direct entries 36 8 14  
Total 48 8 16  

Total number of entries received:

Event Men Women Total
Singles 34 8 42
Doubles 16 4 20
Total 50 12 62


  W R S.F. Q.F. P Q.F. I Rd
Men 30 22 12 6 4 2
 Women 15 12 5 4 3 1
Prize Money
  1st Round 2nd Round Quarterfinals Semi-finals Runner up Winner Total
Singles 1000×16 1500×8 5000×4 9000×2 25000×1 30000×1  
Men 16,000.00 12,000.00 20,000.00 18,000.00 25,000.00 30,000.00 1,21,000.00
                              1000×8 3000×4 4000×2 6000×1 13000×1  
Women   8,000.00 12,000.00 8,000.00 6,000.00 13,000.00 47,000.00
Doubles     2000×4 7000×2 10000×1 15000×1  
Men     8,000.00 14,000.00 10,000.00 15,000.00 47,000.00
        2000×2 5000×1 8000×1  
Women       4,000.00 5,000.00 8,000.00 17,000.00
Total 2,32,000.00
Winners of 2018 Mens Singles Womens Singles   Shekar Veeraswamy (KA) Prathima Rao (KA)               

Organising Secretary                                           Mr. Sunil Jain

Tournament Director                                          Mr. Hiten K. Joshi

AITA Representative                                          Mr. Nar Singh

Chief Referee                                                       Mr. P. Saravanan   

CHENNAI                                                                                                                                                       Hiten Joshi

02.08.2019                                                                                                                                           Tournament Director                                      

About Admin

Check Also

First edition of Chennai Kaalpandhu League concludes with Don Bosco Higher Secondary School winning the trophy

Chennai , September 2019 : Chennai Kalpandhu League, first Under 15 football tournament organized for …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.