Sunday , May 19 2019
Home / EDUCATION / SRM Tamilperayam Award Funtion – 2017 – Rs. 16 lakhs donated to Harvard Tamil Chair by Dr T.R.Paarivendhar

SRM Tamilperayam Award Funtion – 2017 – Rs. 16 lakhs donated to Harvard Tamil Chair by Dr T.R.Paarivendhar

Tamilperayam (Tamizh Academy) has been functioning for more than  6 years in SRM Institute of Science and Technology To do constructive services to promote Tamil language and literature. It is functioning as a Fifth Tamil Sangam. Every year 12 awards worth of amount of Rs. 22 lakhs are being given to the authors of the best Tamil books in the following 12 fields. viz., Creative Literature, Poetry, Child Literature, Translation, Science, Fine arts, Music and Diaspora Tamil Creative Literature. In order to encourage the young generation in Tamil Research, give young Tamil Researcher Award of Rs.1.5 lakhs in the name of Dr.A.P.J. Abdul Kalam. Three Awards are given for the best Tamil Forums in Tamil Nadu, in other Indian states and in foreign country. The best journal award is also given every year.  Rs.2 lakhs award is given to the best Tamil scholar and an award of Rs.5 lakhs to life time achiever in Tamil.

These awards for this year have been awarded as per the list attached on 31.01.2018 at the function held for this purpose at SRM Kattankulathur campus.  Further Rs.16 lakhs for establishing Tamil Chair at Harvard University was donated by Founder Chancellor Dr. T.R. Paarivendhar and students of Paarivendhar Students Tamil Association.

Hon’ble minister for Tamil Official Language and Culture, Mr.K. Pandiyarajan received the cheque and felicitated. Justice K.N.Basha, former Madras High Court Judge, was the chief guest. He appericiated the activities of Tamil services by Tamilperayam and greeted the awardees.

Dr.Arumugam, executive member of Harvard Tamil Chair formation, participated in the function and felicitated the donors. Founder Chancellor Dr. T.R. Paarivendhar who presided over the function explained how the awardees have been selected based purely on their merit only without any bias.

Dr. T.P.Ganesan(President, Tamilperayam), Dr.N.Sethuraman(Registrar) Dr. S. Ponnusamy(COE), Directors, Deans, HODs, Professors and number of students participated in the function. Earlier cultural programmes were held by the students.

About Admin

Check Also

StudyAdelaide launches student support package worth AUD $40,000 for Indian students.

promote Adelaide as an international study destination has launched an Ambassador competition for 10 Indian …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.