Wednesday , January 16 2019
Home / National-News / Hockey India announces 18-member India A team for Australian Hockey League 2017 (Men)

Hockey India announces 18-member India A team for Australian Hockey League 2017 (Men)

New Delhi, September 2017:Hockey India today announced the India A Team to participate in the Australian Hockey League 2017 (Men) starting 28th September 2017 in Perth.

The team will be led by Goalkeeper Vikas Dahiya and Amit Rohidas will shoulder the responsibility of Vice Captain.

The team will feature the likes of goalkeeper Krishan B Pathak, Nilam Sanjeep Xess, Gurinder Singh, Anand Lakra, Baljit Singh and Vikramjit Singh in defence. Harjeet Singh, Ashish Kumar Topno, Hardik Singh, Santa Singh and Nilakanta Sharma will be the mainstays of the midfield. The forward line will be led by Armaan Qureshi who will be accompanied by Mohd Umar, Simranjit Singh, Affan Yousuf and Talwinder Singh.

This will be the second consecutive season that teams from India and New Zealand will feature in the Australian Hockey League. There will be 10 teams in the tournament including defending Champions Victoria, Northern Territory, South Australia, Western Australia, New South Wales, Tasmania, Australian Capital Territory, Queensland, New Zealand and India A Team. As the country’s premier domestic hockey tournament, the Australian Hockey League sees a wide range of top class athletes – including players from the Kookaburras take to the field to compete for their home State or Territory.

“Playing at the Australian Hockey League (AHL) will be a great exposure for the team as it is one of the most competitive league events played. We hope the boys make the most of the opportunity they get while playing against some of the best players from Australia,” said David John, Director, High Performance, Hockey India.

India A Team

1.     Vikas Dahiya (Captain)
2.     Krishan B Pathak

3.     Amit Rohidas (Vice Captain)
4.     Nilam Sanjeep Xess
5.     Gurinder Singh
6.     Anand Lakra
7.     Baljit Singh
8.     Vikramjit Singh

9.     Harjeet Singh
10.   Ashish Kumar Topno
11.   Hardik Singh
12.   Santa Singh
13.   Nilakanta Sharma

14.   Armaan Qureshi
15.   Mohd Umar
16.   Simranjit Singh
17.   Affan Yousuf
18.   Talwinder Singh

India have been placed in Pool B alongside Western Australia, New South Wales, Northern Territory and Australian Central Territory and will play their opening match of the tournament against Western Australia on Friday September 29, 2017.

Please find attached the team photo and match schedule of the Australian Hockey League 2017 (Men).



Shiv Naresh
HOCKEY INDIA (HI) is the governing body having an exclusive mandate to direct and conduct all activities for both men and women hockey in India. It is recognized by the Ministry of Youth Affairs & Sports, Govt. of India as the sole body responsible towards promoting Hockey in India.

Headquartered in New Delhi, Hockey India was established on 20th May, 2009 and is affiliated to the International Hockey Federation (FIH), the Indian Olympic Association (IOA) and Asian Hockey Federation (AHF).
Committed to the development of Hockey in the country, Hockey India with the assistance of Sports Authority of India and Department of Sports, Government of India, has drawn out a Long-Term Development Programme (LTDP) to train players, provide world-class infrastructure and International exposure besides regular international competition. With its vision to popularize the game and constantly promote it, Hockey India is dedicated to getting our team into the top three in the world.

Follow us on:| Twitter: @TheHockeyIndia | Facebook:  Hockey India

About Admin

Check Also

(AIFPA) Platinum Jubilee Conference inaugurated by Hon’ble President of India

All India Food Processors’ Association (AIFPA) Est. in 1943, comprising Food Processors’ Operators along with …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.