Thursday , June 20 2019


Chennai :  The C.P. Ramaswami Aiyar Foundation has great pleasure in conferring theSARASWATHI PURASKARAM  2018 on Dr. Premeela Gurumurthy.  Shri. Rajkumar Bharati, Musician, Composer and great grandson of Mahakavi Subramania Bharathi, handed over the Award and Citation.  Shri. V. Sriram, Musician, Historian and Secretary, Music Academy, felicitated the artist. Dr. V. Mohan, Head, Department of Classical Languages, and Assistant Director,
C.P.R. Institute of Indological Research, welcomed the dignitaries and spoke about the inspiration for the Saraswathi Puraskaram. Dr. Nanditha Krishna, President, The C.P. Ramaswami Aiyar Foundation, introduced Dr. Premeela Gurumurthy and read the Citation.

The Saraswathi Award has been instituted in honour of Smt. Saraswathi Pattabhi Raman who, along with her husband Shri. C. R. Pattabhi Raman, donated the ancestral family property of “The Grove” situated on No.1, Eldams Road in Alwarpet, Chennai 600 018, to the C.P. Ramaswami Aiyar Foundation.  An accomplished musician, Saraswathi Pattabhi Raman sang beautifully. Besides her musical voice, she played six instruments: veena, violin, mridangam, harmonium, flute and piano. She was trained in Western and Indian classical music. In 1977, she collected and published a book of traditional music for weddings, festivals and important events, titled Gowri Kalyana Vaibhogame (published by LIFCO), which she set to classical notes.

In September 2011, in connection with Navaratri, The C. P. Ramaswami Aiyar Foundation launched the first Annual Navaratri Festival of Music. “The Grove”, the building where the Foundation is situated, was once a lively centre of music. Great vidwans of Carnatic music have performed here for the benefit of Sir C.P. Ramaswami Aiyar and his famous guests. Shri. Muthiah Bhagavathar taught Sir C.P.’s granddaughter; Smt. T. Mukta Ammal taught rare padams and javalis in the 1970s; and many great musicians have performed in the Foundation’s famous Kalyana Koodam.

The awardees since 2011 include

Shri. M. Chandrasekharan                   :           2011

Sangita Kalanidhi Dr. R. Vedavalli                             :           2012

Kalaimamani Maharajapuram Shri. S. Srinivasan   :           2013

Kalaimamani Smt. Veena E. Gayathri                        :           2014

Dr. Padma Subramaniam                                             :           2015

Smt. Chitra Visweswaran                                             :           2016

Padma Shri Awardee Aruna Sairam                           :           2017

About Admin

Check Also

GEC presented the “Asia Pacific Business Award” to 48 Entrepreneurs

The  Asia Pacific Business Awards Presented by GEC (Global Entrepreneur Council) and WLF (Women’s League …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.